Xavier What we have to say on Twitter
Xavier Xavier

Xavier Media®

 line

  Subscribe by email Subscribe via email

  Feed link Subscribe via RSS
  What is RSS? What is RSS?

  MyXavier Follow @XavierMedia

  Twitter Follow @XavierMedia

  Facebook Our Facebook page

XavierMedia.com

Webmaster Tools

Keywords

RSS iPhone and iPad stuff – Most Useful Things

What type of registrar is this?

June 15th, 2008 by Andreas from Xavier Media® in Domain names, Xavier Media. Topics:

Some time ago Xavier Media acquired a few domain names at Snap Names (not a big deal at all). The domain names are still in our account at Snap Names and today I got 4 emails reminding me to verify the registration data. This is because Icann requires you to review your address information to make sure you have to correct data in the whois records.

The weird part in all this is the registrars mentioned in the emails from Snap Names. As you may know Snap Names have partnered with a few registrars to make it possible to snap names as soon as they drop and when I got xavier-media.com some time ago that name was registered via Snap Names at MELBOURNE IT, but the registrars for these four names are:

Mypreciousdomain.com LLC
Imminentdomains.net LLC
EUNamesOregon.com LLC
DomainsAreForever.net LLC

I got curious and looked them up in the whois databases (since they all got domain names in the company name) and these are the results:

Domain name: domainsareforever.net

Registrant Contact:
Whois Privacy Protection Service, Inc.
Whois Agent

PMB 368, 14150 NE 20th St – F1
C/O domainsareforever.net
Bellevue, WA 98007
US

Administrative Contact:
Whois Privacy Protection Service, Inc.
Whois Agent ()
+1.4252740657
Fax: +1.4256960234
PMB 368, 14150 NE 20th St – F1
C/O domainsareforever.net
Bellevue, WA 98007
US

Technical Contact:
Whois Privacy Protection Service, Inc.
Whois Agent ()
+1.4252740657
Fax: +1.4256960234
PMB 368, 14150 NE 20th St – F1
C/O domainsareforever.net
Bellevue, WA 98007
US

Status: Locked

Name Servers:
pdns1.oregonnames.com
pdns2.oregonnames.com

Creation date: 12 Jan 2006 23:14:17
Expiration date: 12 Jan 2009 23:14:17

All four got name servers at oregonnames.com, are pointing to the same IP, are registered via Enom the same year (2006) and are using the same proxy whois :???:. I continued by looking up oregonnames.com:

Domain name: oregonnames.com

Administrative Contact:
Whois Privacy Protection Service, Inc.
Whois Agent ()
+1.4252740657
Fax: +1.4256960234
PMB 368, 14150 NE 20th St – F1
C/O oregonnames.com
Bellevue, WA 98007
US

Technical Contact:
Whois Privacy Protection Service, Inc.
Whois Agent ()
+1.4252740657
Fax: +1.4256960234
PMB 368, 14150 NE 20th St – F1
C/O oregonnames.com
Bellevue, WA 98007
US

Registrant Contact:
Whois Privacy Protection Service, Inc.
Whois Agent

PMB 368, 14150 NE 20th St – F1
C/O oregonnames.com
Bellevue, WA 98007
US

Status: Locked

Name Servers:
pdns1.oregonnames.com
pdns2.oregonnames.com

Since oregonnames.com also used proxy whois that was a complete dead end :( .

All domain names got a web page promoting manage.snapnames.com selling .com domain names at $100 000.00 per name which makes me think that they don't want any customers at all :???: .

The big question now is simply: what the heck is going on? Does anyone know anything usefull about these mystery registrars?

My guess is that they are connected somehow to the big failiure when .EU was introduced…… but that's just my guess.

About the author
Andreas co-founded Xavier Media® in 1996 and has since been involved in all kinds of development, marketing and making money online.

 

You may also be interested in...
Register Domains With International Characters At eXavier.com
How to Buy a Domain Name
Entrecard videos

Subscribe to new posts from this blog

3 Responses to “What type of registrar is this?”

  1. Marc Says:

    Hi there, I got the same issue

    I had a domain that expired and is now owned by PMB 368 but I am having difficulty contacting them to get the domain back

    Any contact details for the PMB 368 would be great!

  2. Andreas from Xavier Media Says:

    Try to contact SnapNames.com and ask them. I think they may be more involved then they say in this….

    /Andreas

  3. Calgary Painters Says:

    It's the default registrar information for Whois protection. Namecheap and a few others use there services. Whoever registered your domain, used a Whois Protection subscription to protect their identity. Best bet it to see if a site shows up on the domain and try contacting through the website, or you can also do reverse IP check using http://www.domaintools.com, that will show you other domains on the server. if you luck out and the server only has a few other, see if there are simular domains on there too. Maybe whois of those domains can get you somewhere, you can also use domaintools' whois history and click through on your domain to see if there was a record created after you lost the domain and when the whois protection was updated. Thats about all you can do…

Leave a Reply

Powered by WP Status.net plugin.

RSS XavierMedia.org

RSS Easy PLR

 line
 line  line
 line © Copyright 1996-2012 Xavier Media®. All rights reservered.
Contact us | Support/help | Privacy Policy | Company Info
The World According to Xavier | Domain Names